There have been a plethora of excuses that I have used:
1) It's too early. It's always going to be too early, it's summer but you'll be happy when it's still 95 degrees at 10PM and you ran.
2) My kids aren't up yet and no one is here to watch them. Okay, this one might actually hold some water because you can't very well lock the kids in the house while you take a 40 minute run. But maybe you can run down the road a little and run back into the house to check and run back out and in and out. Treadmill at a gym or house seems to be the only remedy for this one. BUT if you have 1 kid, toss them into the stroller or jogger (Trina just got hers) and take them out while they're sleeping. Leia seems to enjoy her morning adventure and will go back to sleep within the hour giving me enough time for a quick shower and cat nap.
3) It's too hot. That's why you should have run this morning when you were complaining about it being too early.
4) My (insert body part here) hurts. If this is a serious injury see a doctor. If this is a reoccurring injury see a doctor. If it's so painful you can't run, see a doctor. If you are using the pain excuse without seeing a doctor you are in denial or trying to excuse yourself from the workout.
5) I'm too sleepy and sleep is valuable right? True, sleep is valuable for rebuilding muscles when you are in training but if you aren't running then you're body has been recovering since the last run (which may have been last Saturday). Go to bed earlier.
6) I drank too much last night. Too bad for you, you should have thought about your run this morning or tonight anyways. It's your own fault.
7) It's still too hot and I might get dehydrated. That's why you should have run this morning when it was cooler and there was a breeze but you were too busy pushing the snooze button for the 4th time thinking, "Just one more snooze and I'll get up for good."
Overall, we all make excuses for not spending time on our training but it really is doing more damage to you than good.
- You won't be prepared when it's time to run the full 13.1 or 16.2 miles.
- You will gain more weight or lose less weight.
- Everyday you use your running muscles they get stronger and bigger and better.
- You will not be successful only training on Saturdays because that means that you would have only run 4 times a month, 28 times until the marathon (that's not good).
- Chances are your running partner is running and you're not then they will be faster than you and you will be all alone while they school you.
- You'll feel guilty all day long that you didn't run.
- Tia will be extremely disappointed in her Raptors.
Let's get out there and stop making excuses and run and blog and run and blog. Elizabeth doesn't call me "the Intimidator" for nothing.
Plus, I like to have a glass of wine or two at night with dinner and I can't do that and then go run 3 miles and who wants to drink in the morning anyway? Not me, cheers to my 2 miles today with my hubby and baby in tow.
No comments:
Post a Comment